Excellence Awards

The call for entries has closed for this year's competition, but stay tuned to learn about our award winners later this summer! Visit our awards website for more details.

The Center for Active Design: Excellence awards is an international competition that celebrates the transformative role that design plays in fostering healthy communities. Our award winning projects have advanced the conversation on Active Design, demonstrating the feasibility and impact of design on wellbeing. To date, eighteen Excellence award winners have been widely recognized for their critical role in catalyzing change within their respective communities.

The 2017 awards will celebrate projects that exemplify creative integration and/or analysis of Active Design strategies in built projects and research, while also recognizing those that have advanced the field through thought leadership. This year, we have also expanded the scope to include civic engagement as a crucial metric for understanding community health. The competition will culminate in a unique event this September, bringing together new and past winners to celebrate the positive impact of their efforts and ideas.

  • User Side Images Image 633
  • User Side Images Image 372
    Bjarke Ingels Group celebrates their honorable mention for Gammel Hellerup High School in 2014.
  • User Side Images Image 634
    2015 juror Linda Gibbs with representatives from the City of Pontevedra, Spain, winner of the Leadership in Active Design: Excellence award.
  • User Side Images Image 635
    Chicago-based initiative Space to Grow receives an honorable mention at the 2015 Celebrate Active Design ceremony.